top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandice Choong

Encouragement: Possibly a Teacher's Most Powerful Tool

As an experienced full-time educator in the business of nurturing and developing talents, I firmly believe the power of encouragement is not one to be underestimated. It is imperative that a pedagogue strikes an optimal balance between being strict and gentle. Teaching is a journey where we regularly engage with our students and get to grow with them over time, perhaps even on a longer period than their school teachers who will bid them farewell as they progress the academic ladder. I see my students for years and watch them bloom from little kids to mature teenagers. This is indeed very rewarding for me.


Certainly, things are not rosy all the time. There will surface days where the students simply do not meet up to mark in their assigned homework, or even in their behaviors! As they ascend the ladder of grades, the intensity and demand of the practical pieces and theory concepts will naturally increase. This stage presents a litmus test where students' resilience and perseverance are pushed to - as some would state - to their limits. It is common for them to slide down the slope in their effort and commitment to practise. The thought of giving up tempts them constantly to be the easiest way out for quick, sweet relief. The teacher's role is then to encourage, motivate and be the students' cheerleader. This is also not easy since the first reaction would often be to become upset and lecture sternly the student for performing a substandard work due to the reluctance to practise meticulously prior to lesson time.


In a recent event, one of my students' mother openly shared about her children's acrimonious sentiment towards their tuition teacher. The teacher's tone is "harsh" and she "raises her voice". I'm heartened to know they are feeling positive for piano, which is also an apt example that reinforces how the importance of encouragement eclipses the employment of punitive measures.

A conversation with my students' mother.

Here are some tips I personally utilize to bolster my student's morale and keep them interested:


1. Big Celebrations on the Small Achievements

Got those two bars in the song right? Clap! Have that slip sorted out over the week? Pat them on the shoulders! These achievements done right might seem small in the eyes of us adults and experienced professionals in the industry. However, we must remember the salient point that we were once learning like them too, and have our own fair shares of struggles. Imagine the teacher whom you look up to has nothing positive to communicate about the efforts you invested. I think I would feel awful and demoralized. This is something I strive to avoid for my own students. It is my goal to kick off and end the lesson on a pleasant note. This is why I often shower my students with verbal praise when they manage to achieve something good in their playing.


2. Be Gentle But Firm

Most of my students, who have been with me for a handful of years, are very cognizant of my teaching persona. They have an understanding about what I'm looking for in their performances and in their theory assignments. As mentioned earlier, teaching is a day-to-day, step-by-step journey. And in this long path, there are days where they do not meet up to expectations or choose to slacken. A teacher needs exercise caution in her tone and choice of words when critiquing the young learner because words have the prowess to lift or crush a student's soul. Being human, it is my impulsive tendency to explode at the student, and I do admit it takes copious strengthen to restrain myself. I take deep breaths, stay silent as I process mentally my string of words before enunciating them out loud.


3. Extrinsic Rewards Help, and They Do Not Have to be Expensive

Besides verbal praises, I do, from time to time, tap onto my creativity and produce simple cards for my young learners. The cards serve as a perennial and powerful visual reminder to encourage my students to maintain their tenacity in seasons of adversity. It also emboldens them that they have the power to succeed if their heart is set right.


Here are some examples of a visual card I made from scratch, with bespoke messages:

Each card comes accompanied with a packet of snack. It does not break the bank, allows the student to feel special and happy, and ultimately contributes in propelling the student to keep up the diligence and interest in piano. The rewards definitely makes the investment very worthwhile!


4. Cute Stickers and Chops Help

When I teach, I bring with me a small pouch that contains a roll of cute animal praise stickers and an ink stamp with different designs on them. Whenever a student plays a piece decently well, I would gift them with a sticker or an ink stamp. Sometimes, my younger students insist they be given the autonomy to choose their favourite animal sticker. This incentivizes students to practise during the week so that they can "earn" their reward. It's a win-win for both parties!


Conclusion

The road to building a student's confidence is through the creation of a positive, encouraging culture. This is particularly important as a piano teacher is also a pillar of support for students who are struggling or not doing very well. A teacher's unwavering presence helps them to see and know your unconditional positive regard for them. It is a key to establishing rapport and trust with a student, which will influence their interest in the subject matter, the amount of effort they will put in and what achievements they can chart potentially. A little encouragement may seem small, but it certainly travels a very long way.

10 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page